I Cry For You

May 31, 2008 at 6:44 pm 79 comments

My love, Julia, passed away this morning, May 31st 2008.

I have no words or thoughts – just empty tears and pain.

Entry filed under: 3442.

“Light” Black

79 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom2divas  |  May 31, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    I’m so sadden by her death. Although I never met her, she has truly touched my life. Good bye Julia.

    Reply
  • 2. Kahlan  |  May 31, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    It just seems impossible. The amazing, strong, fighting, funny, full of grace Julia is gone. How can it be true? My heart is broken. John, my tears flow for the loss of such an amazing person and for your loss. I cannot adequately express how sorry I am.

    Reply
  • 3. Cheryl Dieter  |  May 31, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Julia will be missed and her wisdom will be remembered by many adoptive parents such as myself. Best of all, her words will help many adoptive children as they grow over the years. Her “voice” wil l always be a gentle reminder floating in my head. Thank you Julia and know that you are loved.
    Cheryl, Dave, Kylee, Karson, Kullen and Kellis

    Reply
  • 4. Ansley  |  May 31, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Prays for you. Julia will be sorely missed by her ‘world family’.

    Reply
  • 5. Paula O.  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    My heart is breaking and I have no words. I am so very, very sorry for this loss of such an amazing and beautiful woman.

    My heart weeps for you and all who know and love her and who have been forever touched by her spirit and grace.

    I am so sorry.

    Reply
  • 6. Sang-Shil  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I am so sorry, for you and for everyone whose life Julia has touched. I certainly know that I count my own among them.

    Julia, we all will miss you so very much.

    Reply
  • 7. courtney  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    She will always be missed. She made such a difference in the lives of people she never met.
    Julia, you will always be missed

    Reply
  • 8. Jane  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I am so sorry for you and all Julia’s family and friends ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I am so so sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
  • 9. Skila  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    My heart is breaking now. I am so sorry for all who love and have loved this amazing person. What a sad, sad day.

    Reply
  • 10. joy  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I am so sorry.

    Reply
  • 11. jeni  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    oh gosh- i’m just stunned. i only yesterday found this blog and i was over the moon with so many emotions….i stayed up ready stuff from here so late last night! and now, she’s gone. i can’t begin to say how sorry i am…..

    Gone From My Sight

    I am standing upon the seashore.
    A ship at my side spreads her white
    sails to the morning breeze and starts
    for the blue ocean.

    She is an object of beauty and strength.
    I stand and watch her until at length
    she hangs like a speck of white cloud
    just where the sea and sky come
    to mingle with each other.

    Then, someone at my side says;
    “There, she is gone!”

    “Gone where?”
    Gone from my sight. That is all.
    She is just as large in mast and hull
    and spar as she was when she left my side
    and she is just as able to bear her
    load of living freight to her destined port.
    Her diminished size is in me, not in her.

    And just at the moment when someone
    at my side says, “There, she is gone!”
    There are other eyes watching her coming,
    and other voices ready to take up the glad
    shout;
    “Here she comes!”

    Reply
  • 12. Beth  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Oh no. I am so sorry. I feel like Julia was a friend and I just found her blog a month ago.
    This is so very sad. My heart and thoughts go out to you and your family.

    Reply
  • 13. Jen  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    I’m so sorry for all those who loved you. You will be missed by your family and friends.

    I’m just sorry that we met so late. You are a light in the darkness.

    Jen, Jeff, Ryan, Katie, and Bella

    Reply
  • 14. Ida  |  May 31, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Rest in peace, Julia.

    You were far too young to leave this earth. Hopefully we’ll meet one day on the other side. The KAD community will miss you greatly.

    John — I am so sorry….

    Reply
  • 15. Margie  |  May 31, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Julia-Ji-Hye-Yaffa, I love you and miss you. Ralf, Paul and Mara send you their love, too.

    John, be gentle with yourself, as gentle as you can through this pain. My heart is breaking for you right now.

    Reply
  • 16. Jen  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    lit a candle for you sweet Julia.

    Reply
  • 17. Julia « Land of the Not-So-Calm  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    […] 31, 2008 · No Comments For people who haven’t heard yet, Korean adoptee blogger Julia passed away this morning, two days after her 25th […]

    Reply
  • 18. Jane  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I also Lit a candle on the site set up for Julia Jen and one on my blog too…
    Just so so sad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Such a tragic loss of one so young ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
  • 19. Rebecca  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Julia, you will always be missed, will always be remembered and will always be loved.

    Reply
  • 20. Lee H.  |  May 31, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    I am deeply, deeply saddened to hear this. John, you and her family and friends are in my thoughts.

    Rest in peace, Julia.

    Reply
  • 21. Heather.PNR  |  May 31, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    I am so, so sorry. May she rest in peace.

    Reply
  • 22. Journeywoman  |  May 31, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I am so sorry. I never met her in the flesh, but her words and her story will live on in me.

    Wind to thy wings, Julia.

    Reply
  • 23. Dae-won  |  May 31, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Mรถge Dir nun Ruhe und Friede gegรถnnt sein. Wir alle trauern um Dich.

    Reply
  • 24. toni  |  May 31, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    i am so so very sorry. john you are in my heat and prayers. you and julia will always have a special place in my heart.

    Reply
  • 25. Judy  |  May 31, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    I am so so sorry. Julia, my Thursday sister, I held a special place in my heart for her, even though I never met her.

    I know no other words. I am just so sorry.

    Reply
  • […] I came home from a concert to learn the sad news of Julia’s death. I have no words of wisdom, no great words to comfort. I am sad, as are all who have been touched […]

    Reply
  • 27. Margaret  |  June 1, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Saying prayers for all of Julia’s family and friends.

    Reply
  • 28. esperandoazufan  |  June 1, 2008 at 1:41 am

    No! Julia is gone?? How can she be gone? I can’t believe it. I’m shocked. I’m so, so sorry, for all of you who have loved her. I’m sorry. I will be thinking of you.

    Reply
  • 29. Theresa  |  June 1, 2008 at 1:48 am

    I am so sorry.

    Reply
  • 30. Cynthia V.  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:01 am

    My heart is so sadden by this loss. I am sad that I have another reason to continue advocating for more funding for cancer research, but know that Julia will be by my side. I pray for you, John, and all who loved her.

    Reply
  • 31. Catherine  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:51 am

    This is heartbreaking news. I’m so sad for her and for everyone who loved her.

    Reply
  • 32. Emily  |  June 1, 2008 at 3:22 am

    Julia, I join the countless number of others who will miss you, even though I never knew you in real life.

    I’m so sorry for your loss, John.

    Reply
  • 33. wcdiva  |  June 1, 2008 at 3:31 am

    my thoughts, prayers, and love go out to Julia, and her family.

    Reply
  • 34. farah  |  June 1, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Rest in peace, Julia. You’ve always been God’s Plan A.

    Reply
  • 35. bless58  |  June 1, 2008 at 6:24 am

    May sweet Julia rest peacefully.

    Reply
  • 36. Psychobabbler  |  June 1, 2008 at 6:46 am

    I am so, so saddened to read this. My thoughts are with all who loved her. And I know I speak for those who were privileged to learn from her in saying that her light, her spirit, and her words are simply not done…

    Reply
  • 37. cloudscome  |  June 1, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I am so sorry. We will all miss her light, but you most of all. My prayers are with you.

    Reply
  • 38. mia  |  June 1, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Sending up peaceful prayers to Julia and many to your family. Love and light.

    Reply
  • 39. christine  |  June 1, 2008 at 9:20 am

    I am so sorry for your loss. I pray that you find peace and comfort.

    Reply
  • 40. Brit  |  June 1, 2008 at 9:56 am

    I wish for all the blessings in the world to reach Julia where she is

    Reply
  • 41. Bob S  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Thinking of Julia and all those who cared for her. May her memory be a blessing.

    Reply
  • 42. Susan  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Aw no. I can’t believe it. I just can’t. I’m so so sorry. Her words have moved me so much. I hope this blog will stay up for a long time so that others may be inspired and moved as well.

    Reply
  • 43. Amy K. Burt  |  June 1, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I am so sorry. Ugh I am so sorry. You and your family are in my prayers. May she be the angel that guides us all.

    Reply
  • 44. JR  |  June 1, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Julia’s legacy will live on in everyone who was touched by her courage and grace.

    My heart goes out to John and everyone who loved and cared for Julia.

    Reply
  • 45. Michelle  |  June 1, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I am very sorry to learn of Julia’s passing. Wishing you peace and strength.

    Reply
  • 46. Elizabeth  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I’m very sorry for your loss.

    Reply
  • 47. Mirjam  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    For John and all who loved Julia: please accept my heartfelt sympathy for your loss.

    Reply
  • 48. Kim  |  June 1, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss. You and your family and everyone that loved Julia are in my thoughts and prayers. So sad…

    Reply
  • 49. Gretchen  |  June 1, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I am so very, very sorry. Julia, I miss you already. I’m trying to find comfort in thinking you will find your peace. But it’s so very hard through the tears. Thank you for touching my life, Julia.

    Reply
  • 50. Borrowed Notes  |  June 1, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    […] the shadows of winter deer tracks up to the window and then a sprint back to the woods […]

    Reply
  • 51. colleen  |  June 1, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I tried to sleep this afternoon with my kids but couldn’t. I kept dreaming about Julia. Even though I only know her through this blog and her words I will miss her greatly.

    Reply
  • 52. MH  |  June 1, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I’m so sorry…you will be missed, Julia.

    Reply
  • 53. c  |  June 1, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    i am sorry for your loss.

    Reply
  • 54. natasha  |  June 1, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    No words can express the gravity of this great loss. I am so sorry. I wish only peace for Julia and for your family.

    Reply
  • 55. Possum  |  June 1, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Just heard the news.
    Julia – you will be missed beautiful soul.
    Sending out love to you – and to all those that love you.
    And you are loved by many.
    *cry*
    Poss. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply
  • 56. LH  |  June 1, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Julia, oh, Julia. My heart is heavy tonight. Thank you for every word you wrote.

    Reply
  • 57. Laura  |  June 1, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    My friend, Julia, whom I’ve never physically met but feel I’ve known a lifetime. I’ll remember our late night (early morining) conversations that ranged from family to friends to where we’d go when you came home. I’m very sad, yet I know you are where you need to be. God has called you as one of his angels. He takes only the best when so young, and this has proven to be true with you. One day we will meet, and you will wrap your arms around me when you welcome me home. I love you. I’ll miss you, but I know I’ll “see you soon.”

    John, this is very hard for those who are left here to deal with the loss and the pain. I can only imagine the emptiness you are feeling, but please know there are so many of us that love you and are there for you.

    Julia and John — together forever in my mind and heart….

    “Never forget, never be forgotten.”

    Reply
  • 58. aislin13  |  June 1, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Go gently sweet Julia

    Reply
  • 59. Julia « Adopt This!  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    […] June 2, 2008 A light has gone out. […]

    Reply
  • 60. Lynn  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Love to you, Julia — thank you so much for sharing with us — you will truly be missed and I feel fortunate to have found you on the web before your last chapter ended.

    Reply
  • 61. Jessica  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    I am so very sorry. What a loss of a beautiful voice on this earth.

    Reply
  • 62. docmitasha  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    The world has lost one of its most beautiful, brightest souls. I wish she had found the answers she had been looking for: I hope she has them now. May you rest in peace, Julia. You have touched so many, and you will live on through your words.

    Reply
  • 63. Susan  |  June 1, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    My thoughts and prayers go out to all those who knew and loved Julia. I had been an occasional visitor to her blog, but had not visited in many months. For some reason, I decided today to check in again and saw the sad news. Her writing was beautiful, and I know she will be deeply missed by many, many people.

    Reply
  • 64. Cynthia/hgpig  |  June 1, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    again and again since John’s post, my mind has filled with Julia and missing her lovely loving voice. she brought a Jewish perspective to the world of korean adoptees, she was my hero and one i hope will be a role model for my own “Kewish” daughter. she was a mensch, a real human being, in all the best senses of this word. bright, articulate, soul-ful and Seoul-ful, wise, funny, generous, loving and loved. I mourn her departure from my world, selfish me, and I wish her a peaceful journey. cynthia

    Reply
  • 65. Eun-jung  |  June 1, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Julia & John-

    Although we never met, you both were inspiration to me. I would read Julia’s blog religiously… and always felt a deep, and bonding connection to her, as an adoptee, as a woman, as a human being. Her strength will never be forgotten, and her light will always shine.

    To John- you know that there are people out there who love and care for you. And you and Julia’s family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    EJ

    Reply
  • 66. Carrie  |  June 1, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    I am so sad. She will be remembered.

    Reply
  • […] was a fellow KAD (see https://juliasworld.wordpress.com/2008/05/31/i-cry-for-you/). ย After a long battle with leukemia, this young, wonderful woman passed away on 5/31/08.ย  She […]

    Reply
  • 68. Ellie  |  June 2, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Julia found me through my blog… we didn’t say much to each other, but through this blog I fell in love with her strength through her struggle. I always wanted to let her know how I felt and how much I admired her, and now it’s too late.

    If she could brighten the life of a complete stranger halfway across the world, my heart goes out to those of you who knew her better, the loss of her light …I can’t even put into words.

    I am sorry for your loss, and sorry for the world that it did not get the chance to know her better.

    Reply
  • 69. Maia Rossini  |  June 2, 2008 at 11:02 am

    I am so sorry for your loss. Julia wrote some things that I will never, ever forget. She made me a better mother and person. I will really miss her.

    Reply
  • 70. Goodbye, Dear Julia. « Mommyhood and Life  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    […] post info By Coco Categories: Adoption Tags: Adoption, Life, so this is why life sucks, why I need kleenex I’m probably the last person in the blogosphere to have heard the news, but Julia (of Julia’s JAM) passed away after a long battle with leukemia on May 31st. […]

    Reply
  • 71. dory  |  June 2, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I am so sorry. The world has just become a little darker.

    Reply
  • 72. Brooke  |  June 2, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I am so sad to have lost such a beautiful soul…….I am so sad for the friends and family mourning their loss……I am so sad she never found her birthmother…….I am so sad she died without the love and support of her adoptive parents, who failed her terribly when she needed them the most……..they should be ashamed of themselves.

    Reply
  • 73. Becca  |  June 2, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    The light has gone out.
    The world is darker.
    We will remember and pass on her torch.
    She will always be a bright star with radiant light.

    I will miss you greatly.

    Reply
  • 74. heatherrainbow  |  June 10, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    ((Julia)) and to all those who will miss her.

    Reply
  • 75. whymommy  |  June 11, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Oh, I am so sorry. My heart goes out to you.

    Reply
  • 76. One Love.  |  June 30, 2008 at 4:11 am

    You’ve spread your knowledge, love, and light. “The arc of the universe bends towards justice.” Your arc always pointed True: a deeply reflective life in words, a moral ethos towards justice, and a Dream for Life…

    Simply amazing, simply beautiful.

    Close your eyes, Julia. Your memory lives in all of us.

    Reply
  • 77. erinberry  |  June 30, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I am so very sorry for your loss.

    Julia, may you be at peace.

    Reply
  • 78. sandrar  |  September 10, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply
  • 79. megan fox wallpaper  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Sign: asygn Hello!!! qhcwt and 9284zbuxtxepbs and 9747 : Thanks. We look forward to hearing from you again and for your opinions on the world of work.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

Itโ€™s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

Blog Stats

  • 181,837 visitin' folks