“Light”

May 30, 2008 at 11:30 am 10 comments

LIGHT

for Julia

How light is your room in Jerusalem?
If love is air, then you breathe it into the world—

to Amie in California, who thinks of you tonight,
to Frederik, born in Rwanda and adopted to Belgium at 8,

he thinks of your laughter. And Laura, who wanted
to embrace you in Philadelphia. She is here, too.

I wonder, Julia, how light are you tonight?
On the subway in Seoul, when you fell asleep

in 2005 before the blasts and the chemo,
did you know your light could outweigh even this?

I don’t know what light I have—
but here it is. Take it.

The Sudanese mother you teach Hebrew to,
you are her light.

All the adoptees in Copenhagen, New York, Seoul,
we share light, don’t we?

And yours, the shining want, the Grace you embody,
is a lamp in us. Take these lamps and sleep.

And then, wake again and breathe.

Written by Lee Herrick

Entry filed under: Adoption, ALL, Me.

Simply Not Done I Cry For You

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. justenjoyhim  |  May 30, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    This is beautiful.

    Reply
  • 2. imtina  |  May 30, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    This made me softly gasp. What a powerful yet still and ‘light’ poem and tribute. Beautiful.

    Tina

    Reply
  • 3. Beth  |  May 31, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Just beauiful.
    Julia, I am thinking of you and hoping.
    Just hoping.

    Reply
  • 4. Julia « Land of the Not-So-Calm  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    […] and embracing your beautiful light. […]

    Reply
  • 5. Lee H.  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    This was written during the last days of Julia’s powerful life. I am deeply saddened by her passing and am wishing her peace. It’s hard to believe.

    Reply
  • 6. Laura  |  June 1, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Beautiful.

    Reply
  • 7. Julia « ItoFoto  |  June 2, 2008 at 11:06 am

    […] article, which was only published the day before she died. I sobbed when I read Lee Herrick’s poem for her. Yesterday, I took some time and read her entire blog, every post, from the beginning in 2006. It […]

    Reply
  • 8. Julia « ReadingWritingLiving  |  June 2, 2008 at 11:10 am

    […] article, which was only published the day before she died. I sobbed when I read Lee Herrick’spoem for her. Yesterday, I took some time and read her entire blog, every post, from the beginning in 2006. It […]

    Reply
  • 9. Cynthia/hgpig  |  July 24, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Lee. just lovely. Like you Julia and I were e-pals and I miss her. Your poem gives me one more way to retain her in my heart. Thank you,

    Cynthia

    Reply
  • […] our love joined the light of your spirit in the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

Blog Stats

  • 178,519 visitin' folks

