“The Hummus Place”

August 7, 2008 at 8:09 am 2 comments

Yesterday, I was able to meet up with Julia’s good friend from college, Sara and her husband Aref. As they’ve recently moved out to the urban metropolis of St. Cloud, MN (^^), they had a craving for some quality hummus. We made our way to “The Hummus Place” – which also happened to be a favorite of Julia’s.

The first time I went, I was wandering aimlessly in the Upper West Side talking to her on the phone. She brought up the location on her computer, and proceeded to tell me all the ins-and-outs of hummus – and apparently there are many! Partial list follows:

DO NOT:
Order just one.
Forget the pickles, olives, and onions.
Use utensils.
Lick your fingers.
Forget the Gold Star.

DO:
Order more than you can eat.
Eat regular, not whole wheat pita.
Eat it right away, while it’s still warm.
Eat with friends.
Drink lots of Gold Star.

As you can see, she was a fan of the Israeli beer they sell there (I think she had memorized the menu, both food and beverage side) – GOLD STAR (she would’ve killed me for using this picture – LOL). She kept telling me to order one, but unfortunately on that particular day I was nursing a bit of a hang over.

I also refrained from partaking yesterday, but next time love, cheers to you and GOLD STAR – wherever you are…

.

Entry filed under: 3442.

Who From, Where Going? An Ugly Life

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Margie (Third Mom)  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I can picture her digging in, and it makes me smile. It’s good that the time you had with Sara and her husband brought back such good memories.

    All good thoughts going your way today, Julia and John.

    Reply
  • 2. docmitasha  |  October 25, 2008 at 2:34 am

    Memories like these are the sweetest…you hold on to them and they come flooding sometimes and make you smile. You must have many such memories with Julia, John, and I hope they are helping you through.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

Blog Stats

  • 178,519 visitin' folks

