Who From, Where Going?

August 1, 2008 at 7:40 pm 3 comments

We all know what a naturally gifted writer Julia was, but she also used poetry as a medium to express herself.  She was fearless in this, as well as in blogging, but she often kept the poetry very private.  It came to my attention that she had written drafts of poems in a copy of Lee Herrick’s newly published work of poetry, This Many Miles from Desire (WordTech Editions, 2007), that he had sent her.  I thought I’d share one here today, I’ve been less than creative in titling the work myself.

Who from, where going?

– Julia Mendelson

What does Buddhist blood look like?

Does it look like mine?

Or is it my soul? Have you seen my soul?

Could you see it when you scanned me, poked me, opened me?

Jewish? Christian? Buddhist?

Where did I come from and where will I go?

You walk into my room, spew out all of this information about me,

meaningful numbers and codes, indications of what’s up inside,

but is there a blood test, a scan, that can tell us from whom I came,

where I am going, and what I’m made of?

I don’t care about the levels of acids and treatments anymore,

I don’t want to hear another blast count or pulse rate,

just tell me, who I came from…

… and where I’m going from here.

.

Entry filed under: 3442.

I’ve Remembered “The Hummus Place”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Margie (Third Mom)  |  August 2, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Julia, you were able to see into your soul and share it in a way we could understand. That’s why no one who knew you was ever the same afterward.

    And it’s also why we love you.

    Reply
  • 2. Rebecca  |  August 4, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    beautiful poetry – beautiful person.

    Reply
  • 3. Amie  |  September 5, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I miss you Julia.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

me_and_mom

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 178,387 visitin' folks

