My Cousin, My Sister – With Love

April 26, 2008 at 1:47 pm 9 comments

I just found this blog although I have known Julia since she was a small baby. I remember the first time she came to Israel, I was 12 and she was the first Asian infant child I had met. I was surprised when my mother explained that we were now cousins. I was surprised in sense that a child is when they get a new toy. A new toy that would intrigue my friends for sure. Maybe make them jealous.

The adults had a same reaction. I remember my Uncle taking a smell of her and remarking that her odor was that of any Jewish baby. Our neighbor asked how much it cost to get such a baby. People on the street would stop and ask about her. Much to her nature she was easy to smile in response to the attention.

My mother has said that my first question about Julia was, “Where is her Mother?” That is when I was introduced about the sad nature of human beings. To a young boy who was raised in a country of adult wars, I cannot imagine something worse than a mother who could not keep her own baby. I had a hope then (still remaining) that we could replicate that for which she lost.

Quickly, Julia taught me somethings much different about human beings. She is a baby sister for me. In reading this blog I am unaware of who the person in some of these writings are. Every person who knows this woman without her blog has very little exposure to the pain that she shares here. I always wondered how she could so easily love again, so easily care again, and so completely fill my life and the lifes around her with happiness given her own tremendous losses. She is a woman who has loved without return in many essential relationships. But she continues.

In reading all of the kind comments on her blog I see how many people out there care about Julia that I cannot reach. I feel compelled to share some of the Julia I know with these people. It is a hope of mine that in knowing her we can work together to bring her through this horrible days. Thank you for Julia and John for allowing me to do it.

I wonder how many of you know how beautiful Julia is? How her hair reflects the sun, how her brown eyes are welcome to any, and how her laugh is too much well-intentioned to ever insult. I can remember many times when friend of mines would talk of her beauty. I felt then and now possessive over her. As a big brother I want to put in a bottle her beauty and release to only the most deserving. She is more generous to share.

I hope that you have seen her smile and hear her laugh. I hope that you have engaged in debate with Julia. That you have seen her quick mind at work. That you have been witness to her amazing compassion and generosity. I have been touched by her. Many people have been.

I hope that you will continue to pray for her.

Truly Yours,

Ranaan

Entry filed under: 3442.

Pray A Little Laugh

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  April 26, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Thank you Ranaan. What a beautiful post about a beautiful person.

    Reply
  • 2. jawa137  |  April 26, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Thank you, Ranaan. Continuing to pray for Julia.

    Reply
  • 3. Judy  |  April 26, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Ranaan,

    What a beautiful post. Thank you so much for sharing.

    I will, of course, continue to pray for Julia. She’s a tremendous person.

    Much Love,
    Judy

    Reply
  • 4. mamagigi  |  April 27, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Ranaan,
    What a special post. I hope Julia has read your kind and heartfelt words. Surely they would make her smile.

    I’m continuing to send my beset thoughts and wishes to you, Julia.

    Gretchen

    Reply
  • 5. briko158  |  April 28, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Rannan,

    I was fortunate enough to have many conversations with Julia and the sound of her laugh was truly beautiful. Often times she would speak of you and her affection and love towards you. It is now quite evident why she always had a kind word for you. I pray that we will all be able to bask in her many intoxication traits for years to come. May God find it in his will to afford her this.

    -Tim

    Reply
  • 6. toni  |  April 28, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    what a lovely post. julia and john and all who love them are in my heart.

    Reply
  • 7. Rick Ladd  |  April 28, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Ah . . . sweet Julia. I have only known you through IAT and Facebook, but we have had several short, wonderfully lively conversations. I can’t post directly to your blog, so I must settle for a comment to Ranaan’s post.

    Knowing you has brightened my life and made me feel just a bit younger than my 60 years. You have also amazed and astonished me with your Judaism, something I am no longer, but (of course) will always be involved with.

    I would have communicated more with you on Facebook, but it is a somewhat foreign medium for me; not entirely strange, but still out of my comfort zone – most likely due to my age. I still don’t quite get poking and superpoking. Alas, it is my loss, not yours.

    I hoped (still do) someday to meet you. Perhaps that is not to be; the odds were always a bit against if, if for no other reason than distance and obligation. Your pictures on Facebook, and our conversations, told me a lot about what kind of person you are. I hope my daughters grow up to have your spirit and your zest for life.

    Be strong and know you are in my thoughts and in my heart. I pray someday you can meet my girls and we can have a good laugh together over the silliness of our lives.

    And to Ranaan – I have seen her smile in pictures, but must content myself with imagining her laugh. We have engaged in discussion, if not debate, and I have been touched by the depth of her knowledge and wisdom. There will always be a significant spot in my life where Julia has left her mark. I was only vaguely aware of her health issues, as they were hinted at in some of her blogs or on Facebook; I can’t even recall. I am heartbroken to hear of her plight. Please know that my thoughts area with everyone who is with her, both physically and spiritually.

    Love to all of you, especially Julia

    Rick

    Reply
  • 8. Margie  |  April 29, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Ranaan, this is lovely. I hope someday I have the chance to meet Julia and get to know her as you do.

    Reply
  • […] doesn’t make sense, my thoughts turn to those who knew and loved her best — John, her cousin Ranaan, and other family and friends, the ones who are grieving the most. What I know of grief is only […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

Blog Stats

  • 178,519 visitin' folks

