Things they say… the II

December 3, 2006 at 8:24 pm 9 comments

An AP (Adoptive Parent) friend of mine (Michelle) and I were chatting it up a bit recently about silly people (convro sparked by my earlier post on this same subject). She told me about a time she was in a children’s store with her son (adopted from Korea at age 6 months and is now 21 months) and was approached by another mother (aka “Strange(r)”)…

Strange(r): “Oh what a cutie you have there!”

Michelle: “Thank you!”

Strange(r): <acting surprised> “He’s yours?? How funny is that?!”

Michelle: “Yep! He’s mine.”

Strange(r): “Cute! Does he like rice?”

Entry filed under: Random Thoughts.

White! All I see is white!! Ajumma

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kahlan  |  December 4, 2006 at 11:37 pm

    People are just real morons, aren’t they? You have to roll your eyes at that comment.

    Reply
  • 2. Grace  |  December 7, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    How about someone coming up to me while I was holding my 8 month old Korean baby and being asked “does he speak Chinese?”

    Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  December 7, 2006 at 11:04 pm

    LOL — that would be a pretty talented baby!! People are so silly!

    Reply
  • 4. Margie  |  December 8, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    My favorite is when a friend of mine was asked if her children were twins – one was a 3-year-old boy and the other a 1-year-old girl at the time. I mean, really. What are people thinking? Ah – not thinking.

    Reply
  • 5. Mirjam  |  December 9, 2006 at 2:59 pm

    Don’t get me started…
    Well allrighty…

    Dutch (bio) son, 5 years old.
    Chinese (adopted) daughter, 3 years old, adopted at 16 months.
    Moron: “Does she speak Chinese or Dutch?” (We live in the Netherlands)
    Me: “We only teach her French.” (we don’t but hey… couldn’t help myself…)

    Overheard accidentally, daughter 2 y.o, sleeping in walker:
    “Look, how sad, she’s got Down syndrome…”

    In a store, total stranger: “I bet you got him from Poland, with those blue eyes.” “No, he’s biological.” “Huh? Then why did you buy her, when you can make them yourself?”
    *

    “You know you can buy a very nice second hand car for the price of that (pointing at my daughter)?”
    *

    *: both replied with: “You can’t afford your shrink anymore?”

    Reply
  • 6. Tina  |  December 16, 2006 at 11:08 am

    Julia,

    I read your blog but have never given a comment before but had to tell you what I just came across.

    http://times.hankooki.com/lpage/culture/200610/kt2006101216180410970.htm

    It is about a documentary being made in Korea about adoption. The man making it has a guest house for korean adoptees returning to Korea. Anyway, thought of you.

    Reply
  • 7. matt  |  December 20, 2006 at 12:16 am

    hey julia,

    you sure come across some interesting people over there.

    i hope you’re doing okay and have a happy holiday.

    -matt

    Reply
  • 8. Ryan  |  February 10, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    How about this one…
    My son has some big eating issues (9 months old adopted from Korea). When my husband was telling his co-workers about it one of them said “Have you tried feeding him with chop-sticks?”. Dumb a$$.

    Ryan

    Reply
  • 9. 신현주  |  May 29, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    한글로 발표를 하면 실로 찿는것을 구할수도 있겄다는 생각이 듭니다.
    더 알려지게해 주시고
    지금은 어떤 단계에 있나요
    제가 할수있는일은 있는지?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

me_and_mom

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 178,387 visitin' folks

