Chinky Eyes

June 6, 2006 at 9:58 am 3 comments

ChinkyEye.jpg

The president of KSA (Korean Student Association – not the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) has narrow eyes. "Otherwise he is so cute," Sung-he once said to me. "It's a shame," she said.

It wasn't until college that I found out my eyes are not that chinky. Growing up with white people, I always thought my eyes were pretty narrow. The Koreans beg to differ.

Joon (FOB – "Fresh off the Boat" or "Fresh off Boeing" – Sung-he's boyfriend) hates Mr. KSA President. He's an arrogant fool (I agree). A 2.5 Korean (born and raised in the states to Korean parents) – he doesn't speak any Korean, but he eats kimchi and drives his rice rocket around town with a Korean CD hanging from the rear-view mirror. One day, it all went down in the student union … the FOB and the 2.5.

Joon: "Are you sleep?"

President: "what?"

Joon: "Your eyes, they open or sleep? I don't know."

President: "F*&^% You!"

And there were slaps and punches. And it all went down. The FOB and the 2.5 and the K+ (adoptee) looking on.

Chinky eyes are such a hot topic.

ChinkyEye1.jpg

Entry filed under: Korean.

Don’t count my candles… Ba’al Tshuva Ji-Hoea

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Neon  |  May 13, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Actually, I think they are really “chinky”, or however you call it. O.o I define it as eyes that don’t seem to have an eyelid on top of the regular eye. But I don’t feel that they’re ugly or such . . . they’re nothing to be ashamed of.

    Reply
  • 2. @Neon  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Dude, those eyes are considererd “chinky”? What’s wrong with you? They’re pretty big and round for an monolided Asian person. And yes, that person does have eyelids; or how else are you going to close your eyes? lol Single-eyelided Asian people do HAVE crease; it’s just not that prominent. And what’s your definition of a regular eye? Are Asian eyes deformed then? Sheesh. Some of y’all people are so dumb.

    Reply
  • 3. @Neon  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    btw I think your eyes are really pretty. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

Blog Stats

  • 178,672 visitin' folks

