I confess…

April 14, 2006 at 5:10 pm 2 comments

When my sister and I was younger, my family took our yearly trip down to West Palm Beach, FL to visit my dad's parents during our "Spring Break." Having two kids in the family – flying was always an issue because of the plane seating being two rows of three seats (or three and two). My sister and I always hated having to sit next to strangers and we always seemed to get the three together seats and one alone seats – we would fight for the seat near our parents. (Why my parents could not take the loner seat we will never know!)

The year that I was 8, I won the seat next to my parents on the way down to FL. I got to sit smack in the middle of my folks while Sara was in the isle seat next to us sitting next to two random strangers. Before take-off the flight attendent came up to me and said, "young lady – are you traveling alone?" My parents, outraged at the assumption being made, immediatly said, "No! She is with us! She is my daughter!" and the attendent was a little taken aback, unsure if it was a joke or if she really insulted someone. I figured this was a good time to use this to my advantage and mustered up some tears. "This is why I hate sitting alone," I started. "Everyone always thinks I'm alone."

It hit a nerve with my folks and I got to sit between them on the ride home too.

The following year Sara made a big stink about how I am favored because I am adopted. (She was now about 15, mind you!) So she won the seat next to my folks. On the flight there… I sat next to a very large man and his wife with way too much perfume — I knew I needed to pull the adoptee card or else I was doomed to ride solo on the ride home too. When we got to FL, I waited til we were a good distance from the fat/smelly couple and told my parents that the guy had called me a "chink." What I didn't expect was my father took off and tracked down the guy at the baggage claim and with a very red face told him, "where do you get off throwing your insults at my daughter?" The guy had no clue what was going on. My father threw his crumpled up napkin at the guy's face and he ducked as if my father was about to take off a piece of his face. I never saw him so mad.

I got to sit between them on the ride home. But I've always felt bad about that.

Entry filed under: Adoption.

If your adopting… I have no pride.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  April 15, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    LOL kids play all kinds of cards. You played the ones dealt. It takes guts to confess though. And it’s not even Yom Kippur! You have great stories, keep telling. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Margie  |  May 15, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Don’t feel bad, whatever you do! You were a little girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

me_and_mom

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 178,387 visitin' folks

