We forget…

March 30, 2006 at 8:35 pm 4 comments

The other day I was talking to my mom about some "symptoms" that I was having (minor things like being tired, a lingering cough from a virus I had 6 months ago, and some sore muscles from running). My mom listened to all of them and then had a list of (mostly embarressing) questions. She started concluding with (btw, my mother is an elementary teacher – not a medical professional!) with, "you better follow-up with your doctor! You know cancer runs in our family!" My response was to giggle and say, "you dork! I'm adopted!" My mom was quiet and then said, "ohh yeah. I forgot!"

LOL … I like that sometimes we forget.

Entry filed under: Adoption.

Jessica Simpson The New Parents

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  April 1, 2006 at 6:59 pm

    Hi, delurking to say your blog is great. Thank you for letting me listen. The story about the bad profile couple is haunting me, as is your plan B post. And wanted to tell you, at family gatherings, my grandma never stopped asking my transracially adopted brother who in the family he looked like. Which was better than a lot of the stuf that was/is said to him. Take my mom, obsessed with her geneology chart, tries repeatedly to get him excited about “our” ancestors. Knock knock to the clueless! I can’t even get excited about the Swedes in our family tree. I linked you in a post I am writing, about plan B adoptions. My blog is pword protected, will respond by email for requests for the pword.

    Reply
  • 2. Gar  |  April 3, 2006 at 2:51 am

    Never underestimate the wisdom and observational powers of an elementary school teacher!

    Besides, elementary schools are like giant germ factories, so I’m sure your mom knows pretty well all the signs of a being sick, though yeah… maybe a diagnosis of cancer must be a little bit too premature, eh?

    Reply
  • 3. erinberry  |  April 10, 2006 at 12:33 pm

    That made me smile 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Margie  |  May 15, 2008 at 8:58 am

    I like it too, but only if we really understood it in the first place. I’m not sure I do, but I’ll keep trying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

Blog Stats

  • 178,519 visitin' folks

