If I could meet my birth mother… I would kick her ass.

April 27, 2007 at 8:21 pm 11 comments

Proto-oncogene BCR-abl 9q.

That is my genetic code. Just recently discovered by my hard working leuk team here in the holyland. And this little gift which could only come from one source, is pulling my life apart. I can get all the silly transplants I want and lucky me – I’ll just keep producing blasts. It’s all my genetic code knows how to do.

I’m pretty sick (no pun intended) of having mystery genetics that kick my ass anytime and anywhere they want. I’d like to be able to blame someone face-to-face. So if I could meet my birth mother now… I am pretty sure she’d get a swift kick in the pants rather than the previous plan I had of the cute little grateful adoptee hallmark reunion.

From “Grace” with Love – for that little added bonus of having one of the only genetic combos that won’t react to the god gleevec.

Your genetics suck. Yet it’s all I know of you.

Entry filed under: Adoption, ALL. Tags: .

For Liviu Librescu (ליביו ליברסקו) JPA Day

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. everydaymiracle  |  April 28, 2007 at 9:13 am

    What a powerful post. I am sorry for what you are enduring.

    Sherri

    Reply
  • 2. mom2one  |  April 28, 2007 at 10:02 am

    I’m also sorry for what you’re going through. It has to plain suck.

    Reply
  • 3. lovein2languages  |  April 29, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    Sorry to hear that you’re so sick. I really hope things get better.

    Reply
  • 4. m  |  April 29, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    I’m so sorry to read this.

    Reply
  • 5. LaMar  |  April 30, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I’m thinikng of you and check your blog regularly for updates. I hope you get well soon.

    Reply
  • 6. Cheryl  |  April 30, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    I have been waiting for a blog from you and wondering how you are doing. You are right…it sucks. Big turkey toes. This is such a big concern of mine…whatever happens if this happens to my kids who were born in Korea. It just seems so sucky that it is so difficult to get in touch with birthparents. I don’t have any answers but lots of postive thoughts being sent your way.

    Reply
  • 7. Margie  |  May 2, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Julia, sending a (((((hug))))) for what you’re going through, and some expletives )(*$#^*&@^$*&#^$ for the fact that adoption does this. It is insanity, pure insanity.

    I also want to thank you for remembering Liviu Librescu. Thank you, thank you for thinking of him and in doing so the entire Virginia Tech community.

    Reply
  • 8. marla  |  May 3, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    so, so sorry…

    Reply
  • 9. zoe  |  May 4, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    You’re in my thoughts, Julia….huge ((hugs))…

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa Marie  |  July 11, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    Im doin nothin but sending MAD hugs, energy and love

    Reply
  • 11. Margie  |  August 18, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Julia, somehow I came back to this post today. You’ve been in my mind a lot recently, just because and also because I’ve had some wonderful conversations over the past couple of days with people who you love. I hope your spirit’s reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Julia’s Jam

It’s just not that black & white. Not because I am taking a stand against. Just because, the issues I face are somewhere in the grey area and to weed through them, I blog. I blog. ~

Glimpse of Julia

me_and_mom

More Photos

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 174,302 visitin' folks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

